

degree candidates.

June 19

Juneteenth holiday. University closed.

BLUE NOTES

May 10, 2024 – Issue 2024-07

DATES AND	DEADLINES:	
May 10	Spring Semester ends.	
May 10-11	Commencement Ceremonies take place.	
May 14	Spring final grades are due on My.IllinoisState.edu by noon.	
May 16	Spring grades available to students on My.IllinoisState.edu after 2 p.m. Begin final audit of May 2024 bachelor's degree candidates. Deficiency statements will be sent to the student and the department/school again, whether deficiencies are old or new.	
May 20	Summer Session begins. (Summer session has many variable length course; please consult the Registrar's website for dates regarding withdrawal from a course). Last day to register on My.IllinoisState.edu for Summer 2024. Future summer registration must be done in 107 Moulton Hall or by emailing Registrar@ilstu.edu .	
May 24	Deadline for August 2024 graduate degree candidates to submit a degree audit. Deadline to file thesis/dissertation proposal approval form for August 2024 graduation. Transfer day.	
May 27	Memorial Day. University closed.	
June 3	Course purge for all students not reinstated and academically dismissed for summer. Course purge for all students not reinstated and academically dismissed for fall. Course purge for all students whose appeal of the 75-hour policy was denied for summer. Course purge for all students whose appeal of the 75-hour policy was denied for fall.	
June 7	Last day for undergraduate students planning on receiving a degree in August 2024 to apply and pay the fee for graduation. Applications must be submitted online through My.IllinoisState.edu. Deadline for submission of materials (late grades, grade changes, transcripts, test scores, petitions for graduation exception, etc.) for May 2024 bachelor's	



May 10 Graduation Ceremonies

May 10 Department of Chemistry Graduation Reception at 6:30 p.m. in Room 220 in Horton Field House

STUDENT, FACULTY and STAFF ACTIVITIES Presentations

(UG)Helmink, Katherine L., Hicks, Cory A. and Szczepura, Lisa F. "Syntheses of Rhenium Selenide Clusters Containing Para-substituted Phenylacetylide Ligands." Poster presentation, ACS National Meeting, New Orleans, LA. March 17-21, 2024.

(UG)Breausche, Faith E., (UG)Somerlot, Annelise H., (UG)Walder, Jason R. and **Driskell, Jeremy D.** "Characterization of Protein Thiolation on Absorption and Activity Upon Immobilization of Gold Nanoparticles." Poster presentation, ACS National Meeting, New Orleans, LA. March 17-21, **2024.**

(G) Arndt, Thomas, Park, YeJun, Stewart, Sarah C. and **Nagorski, Richard W.** "The Effect of the Alkyl Group on the Hydroxide-Catalyzed Breakdown of O-Alkyl Carbinolamides." Poster presentation, ACS National Meeting, New Orleans, LA. March 17-21, **2024.**

Publications

the *Leishmania Tarentolae* Response to Inorganic Strontium-based Oxyfluorides." *Heliyon* 10, e30634. **2024.** *Illinois State University Department of Chemistry, ** University of North Florida.

Awards & Honors

Katelyn Nagel was one of five **2024 CTE Student Recognition of Excellence Award** winners from the Council for Teacher Education at Illinois State University.

Dr. Sarah Boesdorfer was awarded the Chizmar and Ostrosky Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award.

Dr. Jeremy Driskell was named a University Professor and the Outstanding College Researcher Award.

Dr. Lisa Szczepura was named a Distinguished Professor.





CONGRATULATIONS TO THE CHEMISTRY DEPARTMENT SPRING and SUMMER 2024 GRADUATES!!

BS in Chemistry	or Biochemistry	MS in Chemistry
Lily Bambalas	Kyle Malin	Anthony Amissah
Faith Breausche	Trang Nguyen	Tom Arndt
Dana Coronado	Christopher Sams	Jonathan Chilaka
Katie Helmink	Kevin Seberger	Seth Corrie
Lilly Homan	Timothee Staley	Joy Odeh
Aidan Jones	Brandon Stomp	Kwame Osei
Hayley Junkel	Tanner Tresler	Ifeanyichukwu Promise
oshua Kellenberger	Caleb Vance	Jarrod Sage
Sage Lauper-Cook	Jason Walder	
Alex Linebrink	Zane Zamora	
N	CE or MSCE in Cher	nistry
Wilson Chim	Anna Stamer	Sarah Williams
Brandon Sanchez	Isaac Imig	WE.

Blue Notes May 10, 2024



2023-2024 ACS AWARDS:

ACS Illinois Heartland Collegiate Scholar – Katherine Helmink & Faith Breausche **ACS Illinois Heartland Inglett Graduate Student Award** – Thomas Arndt







2023-2024 ISU CHEMISTRY DEPARTMENT AWARDS

Robert Duty Service Award – **Thomas Arndt**Antonini Research Fellowship – **Sara Walis**Redbird Research Fellowship – **Giavanna Alongi & Mia Sloan**Thomas J. Perun Scholarship – **Kaitlyn Nagel**FIREBIRD Scholarship – **Jack White**

Quizon-Colquitt Family Scholarship – Katherine Helmink & Faith Breausche

Sol Shulman Award – Ellie Dedo & Quentin Ervin

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant – Thomas Arndt

4

General Chemistry Achievement Award – John Nguyen

ACS Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry – Madelynn Anderson

Outstanding Analytical Chemistry Student – Faith Breausche

ACS Division of Undergraduate Biochemistry Award – Faith Breausche

Outstanding Biochemistry Student – Faith Breausche

Outstanding Chemical Education Student - Kaitlyn Nagel

ACS Division of Inorganic Chemical Undergraduate Award – Katherine Helmink

Outstanding Inorganic Chemistry Student – Sage Lauper-Cook
Outstanding Organic Chemistry Student – Trent Kobulnicky

ACS Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry – Joshua Kellenberger

Outstanding Physical Chemistry Student - Katherine Helmink

2023-2024 STUDENT RESEARCH PRESENTATIONS

Undergraduate Presenters are designated with **boldface italic type**

266th ACS National Meeting, San Francisco, CA August 13, 2023

Undergraduate Students Graduate Students

Lillian Bambalas Anthony Amissah Faith Breausche Kwame Osei

Anna Somerlot Jason Walder

East Central Illinois ACS Undergraduate Research Conference, November 14, 2023

Faith Breausche Jason Walder

267th ACS National Meeting, New Orleans, LA March 17-21, 2024

Undergraduate Students Graduate Students

Faith BreauscheTom ArndtJane HostertFrancis AwaNicole MarinucciBrian CarpenterAnna SomerlotSeth CorrieJason WalderJoy Odeh

Illinois State University Research Symposium Normal, IL April 12, 2024

Undergraduate Students Graduate Students

Lillian Bambalas Kweku Amaning Affram

Faith BreauscheP. Joy AlendeGavin ChristensonTom ArndtRex EifertFrancis AwaQuentin ErvinBrian CarpenterGrace HohmanAustin CarterLilly HomanSeth Corrie

Jane Hostert
Trent Kobulnicky
Nicole Marinucci
Anna Somerlot
Katelyn Terry
Jason Walder

Ifeanyichukwu Promise Joy Odeh Kwame Osei

2024-2025 Chem Club Officers

New Chem Officers for 2024-2025 Academic Year:

Back row starting from the left: Sara Walis (Vice-President), Trent Kobulnicky (treasurer), Garret Milligan (Lead Bookstore Manager), Jane Hostert (Social media) & Nicole Marinucci (President)

Front row starting from the left: Bella Cullins (Diversity Chair), Michaela Kirchoff (Secretary), & Faith Breausche (second Bookstore Manager)



During the summer months, the Blue Notes will be issued midmonth only.